Finding My Macke

My parents have been up visiting for the past week and life has been good.  It’s great to have a mom who has fantastic interior design talent but who also recognizes that her tastes are not necessarily my style.

With all the additional help to keep Hummingbird safely flitting about, we set to work taking our house to the next level of hominess.  This meant establishing a color palette to bridge from room to room and getting pictures up on the walls.  We tackled the living room first.

Our ranch style 1960’s house has one living area that is going to have to wear many hats (oh I just love hats!).

It clearly was designed to have the dinning area and living area open into one another.  But our dinning table is actually in our big country kitchen because A) it is a big kitchen and that space would be wasted otherwise, and B) the original dinning area has a nice new carpet.  Carpet + toddlers = not an ideal dinning room.

There are three areas in the living space that can really be their own space, but I want them to meld seamlessly together instead of boxing them up.  The first space is the couch, ottoman, chaise combo.

DSC01211

The second is this kind of open corner nookish thing, I’m sure there is an architectural term for it.

DSC01213

The third is over there as a square all its own; it’s going to be a fantastic play area.

DSC01215

I originally thought to use some kind of room divider like an Ikea Expidit unit behind the chaise to really define the play room from the adult room.  That was because I thought I was working with two fairly different color schemes for the two spaces.  Kid friendly colorful on one side, somber and elegant on the other…

The couch space was going to be defined by these pieces of art.  I love them all, especially the two original works by my Uncle Hyatt (you really should go look at his stuff, it’s incredible! Also look at my Aunt Ann’s site.  How can so much talent exist in one household?!)

DSC01207

The colors were great together, lots of warm brown with vibrant reds and notes of deep blue hues, but then I stopped and said aloud “But I’m not a red person”.  And my mom agreed.  It was all so sophisticated and rich but I’m not sophisticated and certainly not rich.  Really quirky or fully blown crazy eccentric sum me up much better.

Theses pieces were all lovely and are now prominent as you enter the house, but in the midst of long winters with cold pale sunlight occasionally wincing weakly through the clouds, I knew I would need something that would remind me of life and growth.

“You need to find your Macke”, my mom advised.  My mom’s color scheme throughout her house is all based off this Macke print which she bought while living in Germany.  She and my dad went to a gorgeous Macke exhibit but I, in fussy infant style, would only be content if she carried me around out in the gardens.  So she never was able to go in and see the whole exhibit of one of her favorite artists.  Thanks for the sacrifice Mom!

It has held a prominent place in every house we’ve lived.  It is her defining art piece, her palette.  Now I needed to define my own palette for our new growing family in our new growing home.

This is it, a tote bag I’ve had for years and simply adore.

DSC01228
My Macke

As soon as we found my Macke the colors just began rolling out from their hiding places.  Look at this futon, the very first piece of furniture my husband and I bought for our house.

DSC01209

And this amazing print my mom found for me for five bucks at a garage sale 4 years ago.

Under the Parasol by Karl Albert Buehr
Under the Parasol by Karl Albert Buehr

The palette for our home is pretty varied but oh my how it pops and giggles!

(Can’t wait to reveal the bookshelves I’m working on right now that will fill that nook area.)

Leave a Reply

