Blank Canvas

Winter is here.

DSC03342

It has been here for a few months.

DSC03413

Locals tell me that I am still in for a couple more  months with highs in the single digits.

Is it just me, or is there a glint of glee in their eyes as they promise that January is worse than December and oh, don’t even let them start on February!  Shadenfreuda.

I cope by dreaming of our garden.  Obsessing is probably more accurate.

Scattered throughout the house are gardening magazines, hardcover library books on vegetable gardening, and even  books that wax philosophical on gardening (Second Nature by Micheal Pollan).  My various Pinterest boards dedicated to green things growing expand daily – how did I end up with 5 different boards all about yards/gardens?  Always by my side is my faithful garden notebook where I can draw new plot designs and jot down helpful hints.

Sometimes I glance up from a glossy picture of a perfect potager garden and the image stays with me as I stare at the snow, a shadowy image of green cast over the bleak lawn.

No matter how our garden actually turns out this year, whether the weather is ideal, the pests absent, and our thumbs a glowing green, or we have monsoons and drought, locusts and plagues, this time next year I expect to be looking once more on a white landscape dreaming green garden dreams.

Bold pawprints from a rabbit investigating all the way to our front door sent me dashing off to research fences to protect our garden from the threat!  Usually I'd just be thrilled to see a cute fuzzy bunny, now I see a lean mean munching machine.
Bold pawprints from a rabbit investigating all the way to our front door sent me dashing off to research fences to protect our garden from the threat! Usually I’d just be thrilled to see a cute fuzzy bunny, now I see a lean mean munching machine.

Much to my surprise I am grateful for winter, for the blank canvas it provides and for the fantastical gardens I can paint over the earth with my imagination.

DSC03393

4 comments on “Blank Canvas

    • Why look at that, the notebook filled with my seed list is sitting right next to me, what a coincidence! And you did ask for this-
      Here are the seeds we have and are planning on planting: arugula, red russian kale, chioggia beets, brussel sprouts, yellow straightneck squash, white scallop summer squash, black pencil wax beans, dark beets, rainbow chard, rainbow carrots, salad bowl lettuce mix, atomic red carrots, eggplant, pumpkins, easter egg radish, french radish, sprouting purple broccoli, long golden peppers, bell peppers, lemon balm, winter thyme, watermelon radish, fennel, rosemary and cilantro.
      Things that I plan to add but do not actually have seeds for are: florence fennel for the bulb, butternut squash, purple bush beans, tomatoes, some kind of heritage quirky cucumber, basil, oregano, dill, parsley, and leeks. Possibly turnips and sweet potatoes too.
      BIG DREAMS that will need to hold off for a year or more are currant bushes in the shade, raspberries, climbing fruiting vines like hardy kiwi, an espalier fruit tree probably peach or even persimon, and a few dwarf damson trees.
      Many of my seeds are from my Dad’s urban veg garden. The ones I ordered are from https://www.etsy.com/shop/nimblenitecap?ref=l2-shopheader-name Her instructions are clear and helpful for this newbie here.
      I have more seeds than I need, we are planning on just planting a few of each variety and the packets come with waaaay more, would you like to do some seed swapping? What are you and Chris planning for your garden?

Leave a Reply

