Everyone Needs A Hobby…

Everyone needs a hobby but things are getting a little outa hand here.

DSC00364

I’ve started keeping projects in baskets to make them more portable as I live through the house with the littles all day.

It started with one basket.

Then another

Then another

And just this morning, yet another basket.

Each basket holds anywhere from 2 to 5 projects or potential projects

DSC00333

There is a nearly completed mermaid tail blanket, yarn for another mermaid tail, and a cosy blanket which has been in the works for almost a year.

DSC00365

DSC00368

There is the embroidery basket which has my completed but not yet framed embroidery piece, 2 embroidery loops with fabric in them, snips of extra fabric which could be used somehow for something.

DSC00338

DSC00354

DSC00347

DSC00351

DSC00345

There is the one filled with wool rovings and sheets of felt.  I am inspired by Sally Mavor’s stunning books and hope to make little felt fairy people too, they could make nice fundraiser pieces.  Or I could use the felt to make little maryoki doll ornaments.

DSC00370

DSC00357

This one has fabric for coordinating dresses for the girls.  SQUEEEEEEEE.  I am still setting up the sewing corner in the basement though so for now I content myself by toting the fabric around with me. so I can pull out the huge shiny pink flower buttons on a whim to squeal and jump with wiggling happy toes.  I reassure you that this sort of behavior is toooooootallllllly normal.

DSC00340

DSC00341

This is typical seasonal behavior for me.  Every autumn I find myself itching to create, pacing in my mind as I dream up designs, but it has never ever bee this bad before.  One year I threw myself into mail art.  For a few years I made jewelry.  Crochet has been a constant for the past forever.

I’ve put my finger on why this year is so extreme.  It is the first Autumn I’m not moving, settling from a move, or pregnant.  Amazing what a difference this makes.

DSC00336 DSC00335 DSC00334

 

 

3 comments on “Everyone Needs A Hobby…

Leave a Reply

