Miracle of Adoption Christmas Campaign | A Mind-Blowing Success!

Folks, I am pretty sure the goal of raising $1,000 for Donnie’s adoption grant has been met!  There are still a number of checks en-route to Reece’s Rainbow, but if my meager math skills are to be trusted, I’m ready to declare this Babushka fundraiser a mind-blowing success.

I want to say thank you to everyone who donated to Donnie’s grant. A super special thanks needs to go out to my Aunt Lynnel and post office angel Vicky.  These ladies volunteered their time and skills to make babushka ornaments which was a huge blessing.  Thanks also to Holly Scheer who let me write a guest post on the Sisters of Katie Luther blog which was later linked in this post on The Federalist; she also mentioned the fundraiser in an Issues Etc radio show. Gulp. That led to a lot more traffic on this blog.

As I’ve been working on these darling babushkas for the past few weeks, I’ve kept my mind on the end goal which was $1,000 by the end of December. Now that I’m here, it feels like this was just the beginning. Honestly, I think the momentum is just starting to build with these babushkas.  Already an opportunity has potentially opened up for an event in April at a local church to share the story of these babas.  I’m really not sure where it’s all going, but I certainly feel these babushkas are ready to do more to help children waiting for families.  Goodness! All the ideas have me eager for 2017 to roll in!

I have about 20 pre-ordered ornaments in the works right now with the plan to have them all mailed in time for Christmas.  This had led to some intense days. I have been waking up at 4:15 AM to snag a couple hours of embroidery time before mom-day starts.  Insane? Yes. Awesome? Yes, that too. I may actually keep up that schedule once this project wraps up because the early mornings have been such a positive part of my day.

I will post a gallery of ALL the babushkas once I finish up this final batch. If you were waiting for another batch to go live and really want a babushkas, shoot me an email (hats4home@gmail.com). I will not be able to get any new orders out before Christmas, but I am more than happy to work with requests after Christmas! AND I certainly plan on hosting a babushka ornament fundraiser next year with quite a bit more planning and preparation involved so stick around!

img_3652img_3657img_3656

4 comments on “Miracle of Adoption Christmas Campaign | A Mind-Blowing Success!

Leave a Reply

