Amaryllis

Angelina has added a few important words to her vocabulary.

– Amaryllis

– Hyacinth

– Botany

– Ornithology

– Substitutiary locomotion

That last one is thanks to the sick-day movie marathons.  The girls ended up watching one of my favorite childhood movies which is definitely a solid B movie. I bought it years before having kids and have been looking forward to the day when my kids would enjoy it as much as I did. When I brought home my own copy of Bedknobs and Broomsticks on DVD, I had a puzzling moment – should it go under magical realism or historical fiction? My husband solved the matter for me when he answered “umm, isn’t it some bizarre kids movie?” So it was filed in the live action children’s movie compartment.  (I use these disc compartments for all our DVD and CDs and love them!)

 

The other newly acquired words are thanks to the bulbs growing in the living room and the bird feeders outside our windows. Any day now the hyacinth is going to burst into bloom!

img_4169img_4168

This is the first winter where our bird feeders have been kept full (most of the time) and we have a faithful flock out there now. My favorites are the nuthatches and a tiny little downy woodpecker.  The girls and I love to snuggle on the loveseat and flip through the various backyard bird books to find out the names of the birds we see. I have nearly as many bird books as cook books, some going back to my late elementary/ early middle school years when I was convinced I wanted to be an ornithologist when I grew up.

Hmmmmmm…it is only just now occurring to me that perhaps it was strange for adults to hear a fifth grader say “I want to get my Ph.D in ornithology and study black bellied whistling ducks when I grow up” after being asked that go-to question what do you want to be when you grow up.  That continued to be my goal until my junior year of high school when I went on a bird watch with a professor of ornithology. I came back from that thinking that birds were great, but maybe I wanted to work with people and be satisfied with noticing birds. Later that year I learned about occupational therapy and the rest is history.

 

3 comments on “Amaryllis

  1. My interests and career path have a similar trajectory to yours. From mid-elementary through middle school, I wanted to be a primatologist when I grew up. I was able to visit the Duke University Primate Center when I was in middle school and I realized that studying primates wasn’t what I wanted to do. I was fascinated by studies where people taught communication systems to non-human primates; I realized my interest was really in linguistics. I studied French and linguistics in university and became a French teacher. I was accepted to a graduate program in linguistics but decided not to attend because of my family’s situation at the time. Now I’m a stay-at-home mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

